Australia’s football leagues rebranded as A-League Men and A-League Women

Australia’s top-tier men’s and women’s football leagues, the A-League and W-League, have been collectively rebranded as the A-Leagues ahead of the upcoming seasons.

Key points:

  • The APL said it consulted players, coaches and fans before putting its leagues under a “unified banner”
  • Sydney FC’s Ally Green called it a “world-leading announcement” and said it was an important message to send
  • A-League Men begins on November 19 and A-League Women on December 3

The former A-League has been renamed A-League Men while the W-League is now known as A-League Women, with the Y-League rebadged as A-League Youth.